Skip to content

E-signature API pricing per envelope, compared

By the nodshake team. Published 14 October 2026, updated 14 October 2026.

Published API prices per envelope run from $0.20 (DocuSeal's embedding fee, on top of a seat) to $7.20 on DocuSign Advanced billed monthly ($4.80 billed annually). Zoho Sign is $0.50, BoldSign $0.75 and SignWell $0.85 down to $0.20. Adobe's API price is quote only and PandaDoc's page could not be read.

Key points

  • Vendors count different things: an envelope, a signature request, a document, an invite or a credit.
  • Flat monthly plans look cheap only if you use the whole allowance; divide by what you really send.
  • Some pages do not say what happens over the limit, so ask before you rely on a plan.
  • Adobe's API is quote only and PandaDoc's API pricing page could not be read, so neither is in the numbers.

Cost per envelope by vendor

All figures are worked out from each vendor's own page, read 14 October 2026, from a Pakistan connection (Dropbox Sign and Adobe price by region), in US dollars.[1][2][3][4][5][6][7]

Scroll sideways to see all columns

API cost per envelope, from published prices
VendorHow it is pricedPer envelopeNote
DocuSignDeveloper plans, flat monthly fee$1.25 to $4.80 billed annually; $1.88 to $7.20 billed monthlyPlan price divided by the stated monthly envelopes, if you use them all. Overage rate not stated.
Dropbox SignTiers of requests a month, billed yearly$0.90 to $2.50Per signature request at a full tier. What happens over the tier is not established.
BoldSign$30 a month with 40 envelopes$0.75 included, $0.75 overThe per-envelope price after the included ones is published.
Zoho SignPrepaid credits, no monthly fee$0.505 credits at $0.10 each. Minimum pack 500 credits for $50.
SignWellPer API document, by monthly volume$0.85 down to $0.20 and lowerThe page says it starts at $0.85 and falls with volume, to $0.20 and lower for high-volume or custom plans.
DocuSealEmbedding fee on top of the Pro seat$0.20Plus $20 per user per month or $200 per user per year.
SignNowPer invite, by volume$2.00 down to $1.20Per invite, at 500 and 5,000 invites. Plan table not read.

SignWell's page also has a price calculator with graduated bands: each price applies to the documents inside its band, not to all documents. From the calculator: $0.85 for documents 26 to 200, $0.60 for documents 201 to 1,000, $0.50 for documents 1,001 to 5,000, $0.40 for documents 5,001 to 10,000, with the first 25 a month free.[4]

Dropbox Sign, tier by tier

Dropbox Sign sells tiers of signature requests a month. The yearly price is shown per month on its page; the table divides it by the requests in the tier.[5]

Scroll sideways to see all columns

Dropbox Sign API tiers
TierRequests a monthMonthly billingYearly billing, per monthPer request (monthly)Per request (yearly)
Essentials50$100$75.00$2.00$1.50
Essentials100$165$125.00$1.65$1.25
Essentials250$365$275.00$1.46$1.10
Essentials500$600$450.00$1.20$0.90
Standard100$300$250.00$3.00$2.50
Standard250$540$450.00$2.16$1.80
Standard500$750$625.00$1.50$1.25

Essentials has no branding, bulk send or embedded signing; Standard adds them. Premium is a custom quote. What happens over a tier is not established.[5]

How to compare fairly and where nodshake fits

  • Match the unit: Zoho counts credits, SignNow counts invites, Dropbox Sign counts requests.
  • Add the seat or plan fee where the vendor charges one, as DocuSeal does.
  • Check the overage: BoldSign publishes it, DocuSign does not state it, and for Dropbox Sign it is not established.
  • Test at your volume, then re-read the page, because these prices move.

nodshake Business / API starts from $0.30 per signed document. Volume pricing is agreed in writing. API access, white-label signing or bulk sending are available on request. nodshake counts a signed document; most vendors above count an envelope or request when it is sent, so the two are not the same basis. Details are on nodshake for business.

Not established: DocuSign's price above a developer plan's envelope limit, which plans include DocuSign Connect (webhooks), and its bulk send limit (its pricing table lists bulk send both ways on Advanced); Whether DocuSign bulk-send copies each count against the envelope allowance; What Dropbox Sign charges or does over a tier, and how a bulk send counts against it; Adobe Acrobat Sign API prices (quote only) and Adobe's bulk send limit; PandaDoc API prices (the pricing page could not be read); BoldSign's bulk send add-on price; Prices outside Pakistan, where Adobe and Dropbox Sign vary by region.

Questions

Which e-signature API is cheapest per envelope?
On published prices, DocuSeal's embedding fee is $0.20 a document but sits on top of a paid seat. Zoho Sign is $0.50 an envelope and BoldSign $0.75 over its included 40.
Does Zoho Sign charge per envelope on the API?
Each envelope sent through the API uses 5 credits at $0.10 each, so $0.50. The smallest pack is 500 credits for $50, with no monthly commitment.
Why are Adobe and PandaDoc missing?
Adobe points to its OEM and embedded partnership program rather than a price, and PandaDoc's API pricing page could not be read by our tool, so we did not publish a number for either.

Sources

  1. [1] DocuSign developer API plans and pricing, read 14 October 2026.
  2. [2] BoldSign pricing, read 14 October 2026.
  3. [3] Zoho Sign API pricing, read 14 October 2026.
  4. [4] SignWell API pricing, read 14 October 2026.
  5. [5] Dropbox Sign API pricing, read 14 October 2026.
  6. [6] DocuSeal pricing, read 14 October 2026.
  7. [7] SignNow developers, read 14 October 2026.

How we source and check our data.